European Solar Prizes 2011

Demonstration Bioclimatic House received the European Solar Prize 2011 in the category of “Education and vocational training”.

European Solar Prizes 2011 are given to spark and strengthen the public interest in renewable energy and were presented in Berlin by EUROSOLAR in cooperation with KfW – Bankengruppe. Dr. Axel Nawrath, Member of the KfW Executive Board, and Prof. Peter Droege, President of EUROSOLAR, welcomed the attendees, along with Jo Leinen, Member of the European Parliament, who also congratulated the winners.

Created by EUROSOLAR in 1994, the European Solar Prize has since given this year for a total of 12 exemplary projects and initiatives in the field of renewable energy use. Thus, at the award ceremony it was recognized achievement, creativity and innovation projects from Germany, Bulgaria, Italy, Austria, Spain, Denmark, Turkey and Switzerland. In addition to Sotavento, were winners:

The District of Rhein-Hunsrück (Germany)
The City of Svoge (Bulgaria)
Younicos AG (Germany)
Heizplan AG (Switzerland)
The Danish Small Wind Turbine Association (Denmark)
Architetture Sostenibili (Italy)
“Green Nature”, CNN Türk (Turkey)
Fundación Sotavento Galicia (Spain)
Phaesun GmbH (Germany)
Dipl.-HLFL-Ing. Josef Meisl (Austria)
Petra Jebens-Zirkel (Spain)
Swiss Federal Council (Switzerland)